About

Mission & Vision

Mission 

The mission of the State Board for Career and Technical Education is to work with others to provide all North Dakota citizens with the technical skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary for successful performance in a globally competitive workplace.

Vision 

The State Board for Career and Technical Education recognizes that a qualified, skilled workforce is essential to the economic well-being of North Dakota's business, industry, and public sector. The Board also recognizes that the economic vitality of North Dakota's citizens will be dependent upon career and technical education's ability to provide an educational experience based on labor market information relating to the needs of business, industry, and the public sector.

The State Board for Career and Technical Education, as North Dakota's public workforce education and training delivery system, is committed to providing career awareness, work readiness skills, occupational preparation, and retraining of workers throughout the state. Career and technical education will span all educational levels, providing youth with exploration opportunities and the foundation skills needed to enter the world of work while providing adults with skills needed to enter, re-enter, or advance in the workforce.

Services will be provided throughout the state in a seamless environment, using both school-based and work-based learning. The system will be developed collaboratively with business, industry, and other agencies. The performance-based system will allow for the flexibility to exit and re-enter as employment demands dictate.

The State Board for Career and Technical Education also recognizes the learner's need to be trained with the latest methods of instruction while using up-to-date technology. The Board is devoted to providing leadership, organizational expertise, technical assistance, and the other resources required to meet the demand.

Quality, accessibility, responsiveness, and commitment to continuous improvement will be the trademarks for North Dakota's Career and Technical Education System.

Questions or Comments? 

If you have any questions or comments for CTE, please feel free to contact North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education.

State Board for Career and Technical Education

Board Membership

Dr. Brian Duchscherer, Chair

PO Box 48
Carrington, ND 58421
701-652-3136  Fax: 701-652-1243

Sonia Meehl, Vice Chair

11103 85th St SE
Oakes, ND 58474
701-753-7431

Kirsten Baesler

Superintendent of Public Instruction
State Capitol, 11th Floor
600 East Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505-0440
701-328-4570  Fax: 701-328-2461

Jeff Fastnacht

608 Canyon Rd SW
Mandan, ND 58554
701-535-0079

Maria Effertz Hanson

4777 Hwy 41
Velva, ND 58790
701-626-2226

Dr. Mark Hagerott

Chancellor, North Dakota University System
State Capitol, 10th Floor
600 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505-0230
701-328-2963

Dr. Steven Holen

PO Box 589
Watford City, ND 58854
701-444-3626

Josh Johnson

460 Central Ave N
Valley City, ND 58072
701-845-0483

Bryan Klipfel

Interim Executive Director, Job Service North Dakota
Workforce Safety & Insurance
1600 E Century Ave
Bismarck, ND 58503
701-328-6024

Meetings: State Board and CTE Administrators
Meetings - Schedule and Minutes
Staff

North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education
State Capitol 15th Floor, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 270
Bismarck, ND 58505-0610
Phone: 701-328-3180
E-mail: cte@nd.gov -  E-mail Search 

Administration

Wayde Sick

Director and Executive Officer

wasick@nd.gov

701-328-2259

Mark Wagner

Assistant State Director

mawagner@nd.gov

701-328-2711

Brenda Schuler

Administrative Officer

bschuler@nd.gov

701-328-3181

Lorie Ruff

Administrative Assistant

lruff@nd.gov

701-328-3165

Agricultural Education

Aaron Anderson

Supervisor

aaronanderson@nd.gov

701-328-3179

Craig Kleven

Assistant Supervisor

crkleven@nd.gov

701-328-3162

Jaden Schmidt

Administrative Assistant

jaschmidt@nd.gov

701-328-3185  

Budgeting & Finance

Gwen Ferderer

Administrator

gferderer@nd.gov

701-328-3168

Lorie Ruff

Administrative Assistant

lruff@nd.gov

701-328-3165

Business Education

Jessica DeVaal

Supervisor

jdevaal@nd.gov

701-328-2286

Linda Kuntz

Administrative Assistant

llkuntz@nd.gov

701-328-3174

Career Development & Career Advisors

Kelly Pierce

Supervisor

kpierce@nd.gov

701-328-3103

Addie Lea

Administrative Assistant

alea@nd.gov

701-328-2288

Career Resource Network

Marilyn Orgaard

Supervisor

maorgaard@nd.gov

701-328-9734

Paula Marschner

Educational Data & Research Analyst

pmarschn@nd.gov

701-328-3196

Laura Glasser

Administrative Assistant

leglasser@nd.gov

701-328-9733

Educational Equity, Private Career Schools, & Special Populations

Debra Huber

Administrator

dehuber@nd.gov

701-328-2678

Linda Kuntz

Administrative Assistant

llkuntz@nd.gov

701-328-3174

Family & Consumer Sciences Education

Ann Dietchman

Supervisor

adietchman@nd.gov

701-328-3167

Suzie Weigel

Administrative Assistant

sweigel@nd.gov

701-328-3186

Information Technology Education

Tracy Becker

Supervisor

tmbecker@nd.gov

701-328-3178

Lorie Ruff

Administrative Assistant

lruff@nd.gov

701-328-3165

Marketing Education

Kevin Reisenauer

Supervisor

kreisena@nd.gov

701-328-3182

Addie Lea

Administrative Assistant

alea@nd.gov

701-328-2288

Standards & Curriculum

Michael Netzloff

Specialist

mnetzloff@nd.gov

701-328-3187

Technology & Engineering Education

Don Fischer

Supervisor

dgfischer@nd.gov

701-328-3159

Bonnie Schuchard

Administrative Assistant

bschucha@nd.gov

701-328-3121

Trade, Industry, Technical, & Health Sciences Education

Tracy Becker

Interim Supervisor

tmbecker@nd.gov

701-328-3178

Lorie Ruff

Administrative Assistant

lruff@nd.gov

701-328-3165

Employment with CTE

The Agriculture Education Administrative Assistant II position with the Department of Career and Technical Education is being advertised. The job announcement closes on Monday, November 4, 2019.

To view and apply for the position, click this link:  Agriculture Education Administrative Assistant II

To view all State job listings, visit Open Jobs with the State of ND

Equal Opportunity Employer

The State of North Dakota does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, genetics, religion, age, or disability in employment or the provision of services, and complies with the provisions of the North Dakota Human Rights Act.

View Employment Benefits at: http://www.nd.gov/hrms/jobs/benefits.aspx

North Dakota State Board for Career and Technical Education