Minutes for State Board for Career and Technical Education September 25, 2023

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the State Board for Career and Technical Education was held on Monday, September 25, 2023, in the CTE Conference Room and via Microsoft Teams. It was called to order by Chair Sonia Meehl at 10:00 am CT.

Voting Members Present:

Superintendent Kirsten Baesler Board Member Pat Bertagnolli Chancellor Mark Hagerott Board Member Burdell Johnson Vice-Chair Josh Johnson Board Member Mike McHugh Board Member Eric Nelson

Also present: Wayde Sick, Mark Wagner, Gwen Ferderer, Allyson Hicks, Joe Kolosky, Lyle Krueger, Audrey Larson, Dan Spellerberg, Pam Stroklund, Adam Tescher, Laurie Elliott, Eric Ripley and Lorie Ruff.

Meeting chat information for this meeting does not exist.

Due to some attendee's having other commitments, adjustments were made to the agenda order. Items 4B (Minot Area Workforce Academy JPA) and 4C (Central Regional Area Career & Technical Center – Board Governance) was moved directly after Call to Order and items 6 (Board Election) and 7 (Meeting Schedule) was added moving Adjourn to item 8. With no further changes, a motion was made by Mike McHugh to approve the amended agenda and it was seconded by Eric Nelson. The motion pass unanimously.

Minot Area Workforce Academy JPA:

Allyson Hicks and Joe Kolosky, DPI Director of School Approval and Opportunity, provided clarification regarding the Minot Air Force Base School District and how they qualify as one of the districts to fulfill the requirements for the Joint Powers Agreement. Following discussion, Chair Meehl reminded members that they are not approving the JPA but approving the academy as a center status. Josh Johnson moved to approve center status for the Minot Area Workforce Academy and it was seconded by Chancellor Hagerott. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Burdell Johnson - Aye Vice-Chair Josh Johnson – Aye Mike McHugh – Aye Eric Nelson – Aye Superintendent Baesler – Aye Pat Bertagnolli – Aye Chancellor Hagerott - Aye Chair Meehl – Aye 8-0-1 Absent

Central Regional Area Career & Technical Center – Board Governance:

Allyson Hicks informed members that she has reviewed the proposed Central Regional Area CTC Board Governance and feels that it is in compliance with the new law recently passed in House Bill 1348. A copy of that bill was included in the material packet. After clarification from Lyle Krueger on board member rotations a motion was made by Mike McHugh to approve the board governance model for Central Regional Area Career and Technical Center. It was seconded by Eric Nelson. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Vice-Chair Josh Johnson – Aye Mike McHugh – Aye Eric Nelson – Aye Pat Bertagnolli – Aye Chancellor Hagerott – Aye Burdell Johnson - Aye Chair Meehl – Aye 7-0-1 Absent, 1 not voting

Allyson Hicks, Joe Kolosky and Lyle Krueger left the meeting at 10:24.

Director's Report – Draft Board Outcome Goals:

Wayde Sick informed members that we have been unable to work with the trainers due to procurement process but that this has been approved and training can now continue. He also informed members that after reviewing the goals that were suggested by the trainers with CTE staff, they felt that these goals were not measurable. Wayde Sick and Mark Wagner revised the goals and Wayde presented these revised goals and target baselines to members reminding them that these have not been reviewed by the trainers. Discussion was held on teacher shortage and retention. Wayde will review the revised goals with trainers prior to the next meeting with a possible approval at that meeting.

Consent Agenda:

Chair Meehl referenced packet material for the items in Consent Agenda. She reminded members the June 26 minutes were held over to clarify a missing second to a motion, which has been updated. Chancellor Hagerott moved to approve the meeting minutes and Williston Basin CTC JPA and accept the finance and director's reports as presented. It was seconded by Mike McHugh and with no further discussion, passed unanimously.

Discussion Items:

2023 Career Development State Standards: Wayde Sick presented the 2023 Career Development State Standards that were recently revised and adapted from the American School Counselor Association National Model Student Standards. Burdell Johnson moved to approve the Career Development State Standards as presented and it was seconded by Mike McHugh. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered: Chancellor Hagerott - Aye Burdell Johnson - Aye Vice-Chair Josh Johnson – Aye Mike McHugh – Aye Eric Nelson – Aye Superintendent Baesler – Aye Pat Bertagnolli – Aye Chair Meehl – Aye 8-0-1 Absent

Board Comments:

Chair Meehl reported that she has heard rumors of the Gwinner Bobcat plant opening a plant in Mexico and the effect that will have on local communities and schools if the workforce here is reduced.

Josh Johnson reported that he attended the Governor's Summit on Innovation Education in August where Dr. Denise Jonas received the Pathways Innovation award. Also during the summit, the Student Leadership award was received by Aidan Pelton, a junior at Watford City High School. Pat Bertagnolli concurred that this student has done some wonderful things for his community.

Board Elections:

Chair Meehl asked for nominations for Chair of the CTE Board for the upcoming year. Josh Johnson nominated Sonia Meehl for Chair of the CTE Board. With no further nominations, a roll call vote was administered:

Superintendent Baesler – Aye Pat Bertagnolli – Aye Chancellor Hagerott - Aye Burdell Johnson - Aye Vice-Chair Josh Johnson – Aye Mike McHugh – Aye Eric Nelson – Aye 7-0-1 Absent, 1 Abstained

Chair Meehl thanked the Board for their confidence in her and accepted the position. The floor was then opened for Vice-Chair nominations. Burdell Johnson nominated Josh Johnson. Josh Johnson informed members that his term ends after this year and thought it advisable to consider a different person to learn the process. Josh Johnson nominated Mike McHugh for Vice-Chair. Burdell Johnson withdrew his nomination. With no further nominations, a roll call vote was administered:

Pat Bertagnolli – Aye Chancellor Hagerott - Aye Burdell Johnson - Aye Vice-Chair Josh Johnson – Aye Mike McHugh – Abstained from vote Eric Nelson – Aye Superintendent Baesler – Aye Chair Meehl - Aye 7-0-1 Absent, 1 Abstained Mike McHugh accepted role as Vice-Chair.

Next Meeting Schedule:

Chair Meehl reported that the next meeting will be Monday, October 23. With the new process that will mean material packet sent October 13, question deadline to Wayde Sick will be October 17 with responses back to members October 19-20. Wayde Sick informed members that due to deadline dates for new and expanding programs, he may need some grace time to gather all the information.

Discussion was held on hosting future board meetings at new CTE centers across the state.

There being no other business brought before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 11:41 am.