Minutes for State Board for Career and Technical Education January 22, 2024

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the State Board for Career and Technical Education was held on Monday, January 22, 2024, in the CTE Conference Room and via Microsoft Teams. It was called to order by Chair Sonia Meehl at 10:00 am CT.

Voting Members Present:

Superintendent Kirsten Baesler
Board Member Pat Bertagnolli
Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom
Ms. Lisa Johnson proxy for Chancellor Mark Hagerott
Board Member Burdell Johnson
Board Member Josh Johnson
Vice-Chair Mike McHugh
Board Member Eric Nelson

Also present: Wayde Sick, Mark Wagner, Gwen Ferderer, Michael Hanson, Pam Stroklund, Ronda Schauer, Randall Brockman, Daniel Spellerberg, Benjamin Schafer, Heidi Eckart, Jessica DeVaal, Kelly Pierce, Michael Netzloff and Lorie Ruff.

Meeting chat information for this meeting does not exist.

Director's Report - Draft Board Outcome Goals:

Wayde Sick reviewed the latest version that includes baselines and progress measure targets. It was determined improper verbiage is used in progress measures 2.1 and 2.2 when referring to students completing Career Ready Practices and work-based learning. Students do not complete but are assessed. Wayde will update the measures to reflect students meeting proficiency instead of completing.

Wayde and trainers need to set baseline targets for Goal 3 and the progress measures. Discussion was held if we should use CTE Centers versus the quadrants of the state for measurements.

The next steps are to complete Goal 3 with the progress measures and develop the guardrails.

Consent Agenda:

Josh Johnson moved to approve and accept the items listed in the consent agenda with the amendment to wording in progress measures 2.1 and 2.2 that was previously discussed. Eric Nelson seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Information Items Only:

Current Funding Policy: Chair Meehl referenced the material packet for the current reimbursement and funding policies. Wayde Sick informed members that our trainers suggested that since these policies will expire soon that they should be included as informative information and invite any questions that you may have. There being no

questions, Wayde gave a brief update on the Funding Subcommittee progress which includes a flat funding model with incentives based on the 6 principles to receive additional dollars. Josh Johnson reported that the subcommittee has met three times and making progress. They feel the timeline is realistic and aiming for feedback from stakeholders in March.

Items for Discussion:

Consolidated Annual Report: Mark Wagner highlighted the report that will be submitted online through the Perkins portal. For the Secondary Performance Levels we met all measures except 2S1 Academic Proficiency in Reading/Language and 2S2 Academic Proficiency in Mathematics. All measures were met for the Postsecondary Performance Levels. Enrollment totals for secondary students are down 1,810 and concentrators are up 213. Postsecondary enrollment is up 678 with concentrators up 676. Perkins requires each state that fails to meet at least 90 percent of the state-adjusted level performance for any core indicators to develop and implement a program improvement plan. This also includes each district and consortium.

Discussion was held on how to meet the measures of reading, language and mathematics and the assessments used to measure those.

Superintendent Baesler moved to approve the Consolidated Annual Report as presented and seconded by Mike McHugh. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Vice-Chair Mike McHugh – Aye Board Member Eric Nelson - Aye Superintendent Kirsten Baesler - Aye Board Member Pat Bertagnolli - Aye Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom - Aye Ms. Lisa Johnson - Aye Board Member Burdell Johnson - Aye Board Member Josh Johnson – Aye Chair Sonia Meehl - Aye 9-0-0 Absent

Proposed Perkins State Determined Performance Levels 2024-2028: Wayde Sick informed members that the agency is mandated to set new State Determined Performance Levels and the requirements that are to be followed. Once these are approved by the Board, we will post them for public comment. We will then respond to each public comment and include that documentation when we submit our revised state plan before May 10, 2024. Discussion was held on the percentages of growth per year and if the measure would be attainable.

Mike McHugh moved to approve the proposed Perkins State Determined Performance Levels and it was seconded by Superintendent Baesler. Wayde Sick reminded members that this will come back for approval after public comment is complete. Mike McHugh amended his motion to allow the agency to put these performance levels out for public comment and seconded by Superintendent Baesler. With no further discussion a roll call vote was administered:

Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom - Aye Ms. Lisa Johnson - Aye Board Member Burdell Johnson - Aye Board Member Josh Johnson - Aye Vice-Chair Mike McHugh - Aye Board Member Eric Nelson - Aye Superintendent Kirsten Baesler - Aye Board Member Pat Bertagnolli - Aye Chair Sonia Meehl - Aye 9-0-0 Absent

Board Comments:

Josh Johnson reported they recently had the opportunity to see the impact that work-based learning experiences are having on students in their school district. It was a joy to recognize these participating students.

Wayde Sick informed members that Jessica DeVaal, CTE's Business Education Supervisor, hosted a job shadowing experience at the State Capitol. Eighteen FBLA students from Drake-Anamoose High School followed employees from agencies such as Highway Patrol, Auditors Office, OMB and Health and Human Services. Each student also visited with Lieutenant Governor Tammy Miller. This was a nice experience for students to see available career opportunities in state government.

Superintendent Baesler reported that last week the Milken Educator Award was given to a Family and Consumer Sciences instructor from Grafton High School. This program has been around for approximately 25 years. They seek out the top 1% of teachers in every state and then bestow a \$25,000 unrestricted award.

Chair Meehl stated that the application process has begun for two positions of this Board that will become available. Mr. Josh Johnson and Ms. Lyndsi Engstrom terms will end in June.

There being no other business brought before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 11:37 am.